Skip to main content

The Warwick Prize for Writing

Banner image
The University of Warwick's biennial literary prize. Awarding writing excellence regardless of genre, nationality or form.

About the prize

Excellence doesn't have boundaries.

The Warwick Prize for Writing is awarded to one substantial piece of English language writing, chosen from work across the globe. The work can be fiction or non-fiction, poetry or prose, traditional or innovative – but always outstanding. Read more

The winner will be announced on Tuesday 10th November 2015.

2015 Shortlist

We’re delighted to reveal the six books that make up the 2015 Warwick Prize for Writing shortlist. The list - announced on Friday 2 October at The Times and Sunday Times Cheltenham Literature Festival - includes poetry, fiction and non-fiction.


2015 Judging Panel

Our judging panel of many talents selects excellent writing that opens new worlds to readers.

This year's panel is chaired by acclaimed author and dramatist, Alison L Kennedy. She is accompanied by author and academic Robert Macfarlane, actress and director Fiona Shaw, physician and writer Gavin Francis and Lonely Planet founder Tony Wheeler.

Read more