Skip to main content


  • 2000 - WMS established as part of a partnership with Leicester Medical School
  • 2001 - Medical Teaching Centre building opened
  • 2004 - First Dean of Warwick Medical School, Professor Yvonne Carter, appointed
  • 2005 - Warwick Clinical Trials Unit established
  • 2006 - £400 million University Hospital in Coventry opened, housing WMS Clinical Sciences Building
  • 2007 - University of Leicester partnership dissolved: WMS granted independent degree-awarding
    WMS the first new Medical School to join a Strategic Partnership with the Medical Research Council (MRC)
  • 2008 - First submission to the Research Assessment Exercise (RAE): 10th in the UK for the quality of Health Services Research
  • 2009 - Opening of the Surgical Training Centre
    Completion of the new Clinical Trials Unit building
  • 2010 - Professor Peter Winstanley appointed Dean
  • 2015 - Professor Sudhesh Kumar appointed Dean as Professor Winstanley takes on the role of Chair of the Faculty of Medicine