Skip to main content

Faraday Joint Interest Group Conference 2017

Aims of the Meeting

This meeting is the first of its kind, and aims to bring the UK Physical Chemistry community together once every 2-3 years to highlight excellent research. It is our aim to increase the visibility of the UK Physical Chemistry community and encourage links with International Researchers as well as Industry.

Key Dates

October 1, 2016: Registration opens

March 14th, 2017: Deadline for registration for those wishing to give an oral presentation

March 28th, 2017: Registration closes

April 11, 2017: Conference begins

When and Where

When: Tuesday April 11 (noon) - Thursday April 13 (noon), 2017

Where: University of Warwick, Coventry, CV4 7AL

Registration fee includes two nights on-campus accomodation, all meals, refreshments and conference dinner.


Chair: Dr. Ann Dixon

Co-chairs: Dr. Carlos Avendaño, Prof. Wendy Brown, Dr. Sam Eden, Dr. Rachel Evans, Prof. Felix Fernandez-Alonso, Prof. Malcolm Heggie, Dr. Steven Lee, Prof. Martin McCoustra, Dr. Tanja van Mourik, Dr. Jan R. R. Verlet

Confirmed Plenary Speakers

Sir Fraser Stoddart (2016 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, Northwestern University)

Professor Chris Dobson (University of Cambridge)

Professor Ifor Samuel (University of St Andrews)

Professor Peter Bruce (University of Oxford)

Dr. Józef Lewandowski (University of Warwick)

Confirmed Invited Speakers

Prof. Alexander Tielens (Leiden University)

Dr. Sandra Brünken (Cologne)

Prof. Ian Sims (Institute of Physics, Rennes)

Dr. Anthony Meijer (University of Sheffield)

Prof. Achillefs Kapanidis (University of Oxford)

Prof. Tuomas Knowles (University of Cambridge)

Prof. Dr. Alec Wodtke (Max Planck Institute and University of Göttingen)

Dr. Maria Sanz (King's College London)

Dr. Susan Quinn (University College Dublin)

Dr. Bas van de Meerakker (Radboud University)

Prof. David Lennon (University of Glasgow)

Prof .Jeffrey Penfold (University of Oxford)

Dr Simon Titmuss (University of Edinburgh)

Dr Matthew Blakeley (Institut Laue-Langevin)

Prof. Bonnie Wallace (University of London)

Sir Richard Friend (University of Cambridge)

Prof Peter Saalfrank (Potsdam, Germany)

Dr Francesca Balletto (King's College London)

Prof Maria Ramos (Porto, Portugal)

Prof Saiful Islam (Bath)

Prof. Martin Trusler (Imperial College London)

Prof. Dirk Aarts (University of Oxford)

Dr. Paddy Royall (Univeristy of Bristol)

Dr. Paola Carbone (University of Manchester)

Sir Richard Friend (University of Cambridge)

Prof. Luisa de Cola (Université de Strasbourg)

Dr David Glowacki (University of Bristol)

Dr Aidan Hindmarch (Durham University)

Dr John Holbrey (Queen's University Belfast)

Dr. Melissa Sharp (European Spallation Source (ESS))

Prof Jayne Lawrence (King's College London)






Plenary Sessions and Parallel Sessions hosted by RSC Faraday Division Interest Groups

Astrophysical Chemistry Group, Biophysical Chemistry Group, British Carbon Group, Neutron Scattering Group, Photochemistry Group, Spectroscopy & Dynamics Group, and Theoretical Chemistry Group

Important information

Travel Directions

Draft Scientific Programme

Delegate Joining Instructions: Please bring with you

Conference Park FAQs

Parking: Make sure you PRINT the permit and display