UNIVERSITY OF WARWICK

SENATE

Minutes of the extraordinary meeting held on Tuesday 20 December 2011

Present:

Professor R Ball, Professor C Bates, Ms A Bell, Professor S Croft, Professor A Czumaj, Professor C Dowson, Professor M Finn, Professor S Gilson, Professor N Hewlett, Professor Chris Hughes, Professor Christina Hughes, Professor S Jacka, Dr C Jenainati, Professor T Jones, Dr J Kidd, Professor J Labbe, Professor K Lamberts, Professor G Lindsey, Professor M Luddy, Professor J McCarthy, Professor A Norrie, Professor A Reeve, Dr D Roper, Mr S Ruston, Professor C Sparrow, Professor M Taylor, Professor N Thrift, Mr S Williams.

Apologies:

Mr L Boe, Professor A Caesar, Ms A Chambers, Professor J Davey, Professor S Hand, Dr N Holdsworth, Professor N Johnson, Mr P Krishnamurthy, Professor A Muthoo, Mr D Persaud, Professor M Shipman, Professor M Smith, Professor N Stallard, Professor S Stewart- Brown, Professor S Swain, Professor P Thomas, Professor P Winstanley.

In attendance:

Head of Corporate Governance, Head of Governance Support Services, Administrative Officer (Governance).

20/11-12 Appointment of the University Registrar

REPORTED:

- (a) That the Council, at its meeting held on 13 October 2011, <u>resolved</u> that the process for appointment of the University Registrar as set out in paper C.14/11-12 be approved with the constitution of the Appointment Committee as outlined and that the Pro-Chancellor, following consultation with the Vice-Chancellor, be delegated to approve the membership of the Committee for subsequent report to the Council.
- (b) That the Council approved at its meeting held on 13 October 2011 the following terms of reference for the Appointment Committee:
 - (i) to agree detailed further particulars for the position of Registrar;
 - (ii) to assist the University in identifying a suitable candidate for appointment; and
 - (iii) to bring forward a recommendation to the Council, following consultation with the Senate, for the appointment of a Registrar and Secretary of the University with effect from 1 January 2012, or as soon as practicable thereafter.
- (c) That, following consultation with the Vice-Chancellor, the Pro-Chancellor approved on behalf of the Council the following membership of the Appointment Committee as reported previously to the Council:

Vice-Chancellor (Chair)
Pro-Chancellor and Chair of Council
Three lay members of the Council

Professor Nigel Thrift
Sir George Cox
Mr Keith Bedell-Pearce
Mr Patrick Dunne
Ms Viki Cooke (initial stages);
Dame Fiona Caldicott (final stage)

Two members of the Senate

A serving Pro-Vice-Chancellor Secretary:

Professor Peter Winstanley Professor Christina Hughes Professor Koen Lamberts Director of Human Resources

(by the Vice-Chancellor)

(d) That, while the Committee considered there to be two impressive candidates who were deemed appointable, the recommended candidate demonstrated the greatest experience and fit to the specification and the Committee was, therefore, unanimous in its view that Mr Ken Sloan be recommended to the Council for appointment, following consultation with the Senate.

CONSIDERED:

In accordance with the provisions of Statute 9, a report from the Committee established to bring forward a recommendation to the Council for the appointment of a Registrar of the University (S.8/11-12, tabled), together with a summary of the career of the recommended candidate, with a view to the Vice-Chancellor reporting to the Council on the Senate's consideration at its meeting to be held immediately following the meeting of the Senate.

RESOLVED:

That the Vice-Chancellor relay to the Council at its extraordinary meeting to be held on 20 December 2011, immediately following the meeting of the Senate, the Senate's support for the recommendation of the Appointment Committee for the Registrar to appoint Mr Ken Sloan as Registrar as set out in paper S.8/11-12.

NO/YSW/KP/shared/senate/2011-2012/Minutes/20Dec11mins 10/01/12