### UNIVERSITY OF WARWICK

### SENATE

Minutes of the extraordinary meeting held on Wednesday 22 February 2012

Present: Professor R Ball, Professor C Bates, Professor A Caesar, Ms A Chambers,

Professor A Czumaj, Professor J Davey, Professor C Dowson, Professor M Finn, Professor S Gilson, Dr N Holdsworth, Professor Chris Hughes, Professor Christina Hughes, Dr C Jenainati, Professor N Johnson, Dr J Kidd, Mr P Krishnamurthy, Professor J Labbe, Professor M Luddy, Professor J McCarthy,

Professor A Reeve, Mr S Ruston, Professor M Shipman, Professor M Taylor,

Professor P Thomas, Professor N Thrift, Professor P Winstanley.

Apologies: Mr L Boe, Professor S Croft, Professor S Hand, Professor N Hewlett,

Professor S Jacka, Professor T Jones, Professor K Lamberts, Professor G Lindsey, Professor A Muthoo, Professor A Norrie, Mr D Persaud, Dr D Roper, Professor C Sparrow, Professor N Stallard, Professor S Stewart- Brown,

Professor S Swain, Mr S Williams.

In attendance: Registrar, Academic Registrar, Director of Finance and Financial Strategy,

Head of Corporate Governance, Head of Governance Support Services,

Administrative Officer (Governance).

# 52/11-12 Appointment of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor

REPORTED: (by the Vice-Chancellor)

- (a) That at its meeting held on 25 January 2012, the Senate <u>approved</u> the process for selecting and approving the appointment of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor as set out in paper SC.192/11-12 as recommended by the Steering Committee, in particular, that the Chair of the Search Committee be the Vice-Chancellor as was also the case for the appointment of the previous Deputy Vice-Chancellor.
- (b) That the Vice-Chancellor recommended to the Council via correspondence that the post of Deputy Vice-Chancellor be filled and that a Search Committee be established and chaired by the Vice-Chancellor, notwithstanding the membership set out in Ordinance 2.
- (c) That the Pro-Chancellor approved on behalf of the Council and the Vice-Chancellor on behalf of the Senate the following membership of the Search Committee:

Vice-Chancellor (Chair)

Lay member of the Council

Three professorial members of the Senate

Prof

Professor Nigel Thrift
Ms Penny Egan
Professor Simon Swain
Professor Christopher Hughes
Professor Colin Sparrow

- (d) That interviews were held on Monday, 20 February 2012, and following these, the Committee was in a position to put forward a recommendation to both the Senate and the Council.
- (e) That this extraordinary meeting of the Senate was held for consultation on Wednesday, 22 February 2012, in advance of the recommendation of the Search Committee being considered by the Council at its meeting on Thursday, 23 February 2012.

#### CONSIDERED:

In accordance with the provisions of Statute 7, a report from the Committee established to bring forward a recommendation to the Council for the appointment of a Deputy Vice-Chancellor of the University (S.28/11-12) with a view to the Vice-Chancellor reporting to the Council on the Senate's consideration at its meeting to be held on Thursday, 23 February 2012.

### RESOLVED:

That the Vice-Chancellor relay to the Council that the Senate warmly endorsed the recommendation of the Search Committee to appoint Professor Koen Lamberts as Deputy Vice-Chancellor of the University for the period of five years with immediate effect as set out in paper S.28/11-12.

## 53/11-12 Appointment of the Pro-Vice-Chancellors

REPORTED: (by the Vice-Chancellor)

- (a) That Professor Margot Finn would be leaving the University in summer 2012 to take up a Chair in Modern British History at University College London, leaving a vacancy for the position of Pro-Vice-Chancellor.
- (b) That, subject to the Council's approval of the recommendation to appoint Professor Koen Lamberts as Deputy Vice-Chancellor of the University, there would be a second vacancy for the position of Pro-Vice-Chancellor.
- (c) That an Appointment Committee for Pro-Vice-Chancellors would be established, in line with Ordinance 3(5) Procedure for the Appointment of Pro-Vice-Chancellors, with a view to two recommendations for appointment to be made to the Council at its meeting to be held on 16 May 2012.

## **RESOLVED:**

That the Vice-Chancellor, on behalf of the Senate, appoint the three members of the Senate to serve on the Appointment Committee for Pro-Vice-Chancellors.

KS/YSW/KP/shared/senate/2011-2012/Minutes/22Feb12mins 29/02/12