Skip to main content

Arts The Warwick Writing Programme

The permanent Faculty of the Writing Programme includes internationally renowned authors from a variety of disciplines and genres. Among them are Will Eaves, Maureen Freely, Michael Hulse, A.L.Kennedy, Tim Leach, David Morley, Sarah Moss, Jonathan Skinner, and David Vann. Regular tutors have included Peter Blegvad, Lee Thomas, Leila Rasheed, Jeremy Treglown and George Ttoouli. Jonathan Coe is an Honorary Professor, Catherine O'Flynn the current Royal Literary Fund Fellow, and Rochelle Sibley leads the Writing Centre.

Visiting Fellows have included Monica Ali, Candida Clark, Geoffrey Hill, Mario Vargas Llosa, Maggie O'Farrell, Fiona Sampson and Wole Soyinka.

What we do

  • Teach academic and creative writing using innovative as well as established methods.
  • Lead international research in writing through creative practice, conferences, and the generation of public debate in newspapers, journals, broadcast media and online.
  • Show scientists and business people how to better communicate their findings.
  • Create positive and permanent links to writers of the Midlands through outreach to schools and a year-round festival of visiting authors and industry specialists.
  • Foster international partnerships with educational institutions and universities (Monash, NYU, etc), writers’ organisations and publishers.

What you can do