Skip to main content

Stvdio Seminar Series Speakers 2008-09

Autumn 2008

David Wooton (York), 'Redondi’s Galileo Heretic Revisited’. 5.00pm, Tuesday, 14 October 2008 in Humanities Building, Room 403. Co-sponsored by the Department of Italian.

Sarah Knight (Leicester), ‘Milton’s Student Writing’. 5.00pm, Tuesday, 28 October 2008 in Humanities Building, Room 450 (Renaissance Centre).

Jim Bennett (Oxford): ‘The Instruments of Renaissance Science’ (co-sponsored by the Society for Renaissance Studies). 5.00pm, Wednesday, 29 October 2008 in the Seminar Room, Institute for Advanced Studies, Millburn House.

Penny Roberts (Warwick), ‘Renaissance Philosophy and Peacemaking during the French Religious Wars’. 5.00pm, Tuesday, 11 November 2008 in Humanities Building, Room 450 (Renaissance Centre).

Lawrence Green (Warwick), ‘The Masks of Zeuxis: Literary Afterlives in Sixteenth-Century England'. 5.00pm, Tuesday, 25 November 2008 in Humanities Building, Room 450 (Renaissance Centre).

Spring 2009

Carla Zecher (Newberry Library, Chicago), 'Unlocking the Newberry Library: An Introduction to the Newberry Library's Collections, Seminar Programmes, and Research Opportunities'. 5.00 pm, Tuesday, 13 January 2009, IAS Seminar Room, Millburn House.

Martin Stone (Leuven, Belgium), 'Do We Really Understand Renaissance Ideas of Conscience?' 5.00 pm, Tuesday, 20 January, in Humanities Building, Room 450 (Renaissance Centre).

Nicholas Terpstra (Toronto), ‘The Art of Executing Well: Comforting the Condemned in Renaissance Italy’. 5.00 pm, Tuesday, 17 February in Arts Centre Lecture room.

Nicholas Terpstra (Toronto), 'Representations of the Massacre of the Innocents'. 5.00 pm, Wednesday, 18 February in Millburn House, F37 (co-organized by the Department of History of Art).

Nicholas Terpstra (Toronto), 'When the Saints Come Marching in: Civic Religion in Renaissance Italy'. 5.00 pm, Monday, 23 February in MS.05, [Maths Building].

Brenda Hosington (Warwick), 'Crossroads of Culture: Mapping Translation in Renaissance Britain, 1475-1640’. 5.00 pm, Tuesday, 3 March, in Humanities Building, Room 450 (Renaissance Centre).

Louise Bourdua (Warwick), ‘Exports to Padua Trecento Style: Altichiero’s Roman Legacy’. 5.00 pm, Tuesday, 10 March, in Humanities Building, Room 403.

Martin McLaughlin (Oxford), ‘Alberti’s Vita and Canis: Portrait of the Artist as a Renaissance Dog’. 5.00 pm, Tuesday, 21 April, in Humanities Building, Room 403.

Luke Syson (National Gallery, London), 'How Should We Read Renaissance Pictures?' 5.00 pm, Tuesday, 5 May, in Humanities Building, Room 403.