Skip to main content

Archive STVDIO papers 2016-17

Autumn 2016, Term 1

Tuesday 11 October 2016. Dr Sascha Becker (Warwick), 'Religion, Division of Labour and Conflict: Anti-Semitism in German Regions in the Early Modern Period'.

Thursday 3 November 2016. Dr Dario Tessicini (Durham), 'Comets and Meteorology in Early Modern Venice'.

Tuesday 15 November 2016. Professor Raluca Radulescu (Bangor), 'High Feeling in Fifteenth-Century Vernacular Chronicles in England'.

Spring 2017, Term 2

Tuesday 7 February 2017. Dr Matthias Roick (Göttingen), 'Easy Virtue? The Moral Thought of Italian Humanists and Its Reception in 17th-Century Germany'.

Tuesday 21 February 2017. Professor Alessandra Petrina (Padua), 'Machiavelli’s Principe and the Scribal Community in Early Modern England'.

Friday 3 March 2017. Dr Max Engammare (Institut d'histoire de la Reformation, Genève / Director, Droz SA), 'The Biblical Figure of Bathsheba'. 2-3:15pm

Tuesday 7 March 2017. Umberto Cecchinato (Scuola Normale Superiore), 'Public Dances as Social Situations: Behaviors and Conflicts at Balls in Renaissance Venice'.

Summer 2017, Term 3

Tuesday 25 April 2017. Dr Matthew Champion (Birkbeck), 'Erasmus' Bells: Word, Voice, Presence'.

Friday, 5 May 2017, 12-2pm. Dr Sietske Fransen (Cambridge), 'Communicating the Previously Unseen: Dutch microscopists and their correspondence with the Royal Society'.

Tuesday 23 May 2017. Dr Alexander Samson (UCL), 'Hispanic Worlds in the English Renaissance'.

Tuesday 27th June 2017. Shanti Graheli (St Andrews) on 'Knowledge, Print, and Power: The Rise and Fall of the Accademia Veneziana.