Skip to main content

Membership

To join the Society for Neo-Latin Studies please download the membership form (Word Document) and return as indicated.

The SNLS membership fee is £10* (£5* for students and the unwaged) - *subject to annual revision. It is now possible to pay the membership fee by standing order (see form above). SNLS has now introduced additional payment options for members based abroad, in the hope of making membership more attractive for this group of scholars by reducing banking fees. Members based abroad can now pay membership for 10, 15 or 20 years in one go (this option is also available to UK members), or they can obtain life membership for £300.


Current Members

NB page to be updated

Name, Firstname (title) e-mail address position contact address Main interests Current project
Archibald, Elizabeth (Dr) E.Archibald@bristol.ac.uk Reader in Medieval Studies Dept of English, University of Bristol, BS8 1TB Classical Tradition in Middle Ages; Medieval Latin; Medieval Romance Comedia sine Nomine/Columnarum and links with Petrarch

Barry, John (Mr)

j.barry@ucc.ie Lecturer Dept of Classic, University College, Cork, Ireland Greek & Roman literatury; rhetorical theory & practice Richard Stanihurst, De Rebus in Hibernia Gestis
Binns, J W (Dr) jwb7@york.ac.uk Honorary Fellow (retired) Centre for Medieval Studies, King's Manor, York, YO1 7DE 18C & Anglo-Latin  
Bishop, Brian (Mr) brennus2 at legranus dot me dot uk retired Latin teacher [155, Leighton Avenue, Leigh-on-Sea, Essex SS9 1PX] Contemporary Latin  
Coroleu, Alejandro (Dr) alejandro.coroleu@nottingham.ac.uk Research Fellow Department of Hispanic Studies, University of Nottingham, Nottingham NG7 2RD Spanish Humanism and Neo-Latin  
Cummings, Robert (Mr) R.Cummings@englit.gla.ac.uk   Dept of English Literature, University of Glasgow, Glasgow G12 8EE Early Modern Comparative Literature Anglo-Latin; Scoto-Latin Poetry; Translation
De Smet, Ingrid (Dr) I.de-Smet@warwick.ac.uk Associate Professor Dept of French Studies / Centre for the Study of the Renaissance, University of Warwick, Coventry CV4 7AL 16C-17C intellectual culture in France, the Low Countries and Italy Jacques-Auguste de Thou; the culture of books during the French Wars of Religion
Ford, Philip (Prof.) pjf2@cam.ac.uk Professor of French & Neo-Latin Literature Clare College, Cambridge CB2 1TL French Renaissance Humanism; Classical Heritage in 16C France; French & Neo-Latin Poetry Reception of Homer in the French Renaissance; edition of George Buchanan's poetry
Giglioni, Guido (Dr) guido.giglioni@sas.ac.uk Lecturer Warburg Institute, Woburn Square WC1H 0AB History of 16C & 17C philosophy and science Tommaso Campanella's Medicina
Gilmore, John (Dr) John.Gilmore@warwick.ac.uk        
Glomski, Jacqueline (Dr) jacqueline@glomski.demon.co.uk Latin Teacher History Dept, King's College London, Strand, London WC2R 2LS 16C-17C Latin Neo-Latin novels
Harris, J (Dr) j.harris@ucc.ie        
Herdman, Emma (Dr) emma.herdman@worc.ox.ac.uk Junior Research Fellow Worcester College, Oxford OX1 2HB Poetry & historiography in French Wars of Religion Latin Poetry of Louis Des Masures (Borboniad)
Holland, Anna (Dr) anna.holland@sjc.ox.ac.uk Teaching Fellow in French, St John's College Oxford 26 Dordrecht Road, London W3 7TF Reception of Classical Poetry and traditions of humanist commentary in Renaissance France; obscenity in Renaissance Humanism Muret, Catullus & obscenity; D. Lambin, pedagogy & sexual identity
Hosington, Brenda (Prof.) hosington@hotmail.com Retired U of Montreal; Research Associate Warwick 6a Grove End House; Grove End Rd; London NW8 9HL Renaissance Women's Latin writings; women translators; Elizabeth I's Latin writings; women's translations
Houghton, Luke (Dr) l.houghton@reading.ac.uk Research Fellow Dept of Greek & Latin, University College London, Gower St, London WC1E 6BT Petrarch; Neo-Latin love poetry; reception of Virgil  
Kenny, Neil (Dr) nk200@cam.ac.uk Reader in Early Modern French Literature & Thought Dept of French, Faculty of Modern & Medieval Languages, University of Cambridge, Sidgwick Avenue, Cambridge CB4 3LH 16C-17C French literature & thought relation between past & present as expressed through tenses in French & Neo-Latin
Knight, Sarah (Dr) sk218@leicester.ac.uk Senior Lecturer in Shakespeare and Renaissance Literature

School of English, University of Leicester, University Road, Leicester LE1 7RH

Elizabethan and early Stuart poetry and drama in English and Latin; history of the early modern universities; Renaissance adolescent and student writing.

Edition and translation of John Milton's Prolusions; Milton Latin poems of 1629; monograph Satire and Education in Early Modern England
Laird, Andrew (Dr) clsal@warwick.ac.uk Reader in Classical Literature Department of Classics, University of Warwick, Coventry CV4 7AL Italian Humanism; Latin in Spanish America; Virgil in the Latin tradition Translation of Petrarch's Africa; Latin humanism & indiginous memory in Colonial Mexico
Money, David (Dr) dkm14@hermes.cam.ac.uk        
Moss, Ann (Prof.) ann.moss@btinternet.com Professor Emeritus (French), Durham 7 Mountjoy Crescent, Durham DH1 3BA Early Modern Intellectual history and literature; pedagogy; rhetoric Articles on Zwinger and Otto Vaenius
Nicholas Lucy R (Miss) lnicholas@mtsn.org.uk Teacher / P/T PhD student Merchant Taylors' School, Sandy Lodge, Northwood, Middlesex HA6 2HT Humanism and the Reformation in Renaissance England Translation of and commentary on Roger Ascham's Pro Caena Dominica
Norland, Howard (Prof.) howardnorland@hotmail.com Professor emeritus, Nebraska 6a Grove End House; Grove End Rd; London NW8 9HL Neo-Latin drama; Renaissance English Drama History of European Neo-Latin Drama
Panizza, Letizia (Dr) l.panizza@rhul.ac.uk Honorary Research Fellow, Royal Holloway 8 Milner Place, Islington, London N1 1TN Italian Humanism; Lucian & Italy; translation Celio Secondo Curione; satire & 16C Italian Reformation
Piepho, Lee (Dr) lpiepho@sbc.edu Shellenberger Brown Professor of English Literature English Department, Sweet Briar College, Sweet Briar, VA 24595, USA Humanism in Early Modern England, Transnational cultural communication between England and Protestant Northern Europe British & continental Latin literature associated with the princess Elizabeth and the Palatine Elector Friedrich II
Rees, Valery (Mrs) valery.rees@ficino.org London School of Economic Science   Reception of Ficino in England and Hungary edition of Marsilio Ficino's Letters
Sacre, Dirk (Prof.) Dirk.Sacre@arts.kuleuven.ac.uk Professor of Latin and Neo-Latin Literature

Erasmushuis, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Blijde Inkomststraat 21, B-3000 Leuven [Kerselarenweg 21, B-3020 Herent]


Neo-Latin literature (esp. poetry) from the Low Countries and Italy, 1500-2000


Justus Lipsius and his 'Nachleben'
Sidwell, Keith (Prof.) k.sidwell@ucc.ie Professor of Latin and Greek Dept of Classics, University College Cork, Cork, Ireland Neo-Latin literature in Ireland Cambridge Handbook of Irish Neo-Latin; edition of theOrmonius of Dermitius Meara
Taylor, Andrew (Dr) awt24@cam.ac.uk   Churchill College, Cambridge CB3 0DS Renaissance Humanism and the Reformation; History of the Book Erasmian humanism in mid-Tudor England; Neo-Latin & the vernacular in Henrician Poetry
Tilg, Stefan stefan.tilg@googlemail.com 'Assistent Institut fuer Klassische Philologie, Universitaet Bern, Laenggassstrasse 49, CH-3000 Bern 9 [Corpus Christi College Oxford till Aug 07] Jesuit Drama; Neo-Latin in Austria and Modern Europe Neo-Latin literature and individuality
Verbeke, Demmy (Dr) viroviacum@gmail.com Post-doctoral Research Fellow Centre for the Study of the Renaissance, University of Warwick, Coventry CV4 7AL Renaissance translations; Humanism in theLow Countries; the Classical Tradition; History of the Book Renaissance Cultural Crossroads: an annotated catalogue of translations 1473-1640
Visser, Arnoud (Dr) asqv@st-andrews.ac.uk Post-doctoral Research Fellow School of Classics, University of St Andrews, Swallowgate, Butts Wynd, St Andrews KY16 9AL Renaissance Humanism and the Reformation; Reception of Augustine; Illustrated Books; Commonplace Books

Reception of Augustine 1500-1700; humanism & confessionalisation