Skip to main content

WIRL-COFUND - Warwick Interdisciplinary Research Leadership Programme

The first call for applicants closed on 16 December 2016. The second call will open in autumn of 2017. In the first round of applications up to nine fellowships will be available.

  • Please see the 2016 Call Documents section for further guidance.
  • Please refer to the Review Process & Timeline for queries about the process of applications, redress & feedback.
  • If you have additional queries please email WIRL dot COFUND at warwick dot ac dot uk.

The date for determining the eligibility for the transnational mobility rule is no longer the deadline for applications and will now be 8th May 2017. Applicants must not have resided or carried out their main activity (work/study etc.) in the UK for more than 12 months in the three years prior that date.

The IAS WIRL-COFUND project has received funding the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under the Marie Skłodowska Curie Actions COFUND scheme (grant agreement number 713548) to develop the next generation of research leaders. WIRL-COFUND will build on the successful training model developed in the IAS fellowship programmes to bring together early career researchers from around the world into an interdisciplinary research environment. WIRL-COFUND fellows will be expected to undertake research in an area that is linked to one of the Warwick Global Research Priorities.

Each fellow will participate in the IAS Academic Careers and Leadership (AcCaLd) Programme, an extensive training programme aimed at building an independent research profile and establishing a research career.

The programme will recruit 30 fellows from around the world over a five year period, and the first cohort will start in September 2017. Calls will be open to researchers who meet the Marie Skłodowska Curie Actions definition of an Experienced Researcher and conform to the mobility requirements of the COFUND scheme (no more than 12 months spent in the UK in the 3 years prior to 8th May 2017).