Skip to main content

AMSTAT Seminars 2009-10

Term 3 – 2010

All seminars on Fridays at 12:00 in Lecture Room B3.02 - Mathematics Institute - Zeeman Building

Organisers: Gareth Roberts and Andrew Stuart

PDF of Poster(PDF Document)

  • Friday 30 April 2010
    David White (Warwick)
    Bayesian Density Estimation
  • Friday 7 May 2010
    Informal Group Meeting
  • Friday 14 May 2010
    Informal Group Meeting
  • Friday 21 May 2010
    Omiros Paspiliopoulos (Universitat Pompeu Fabra)
    Sequential Detection of Changes
  • Friday 28 May 2010
    Mahadevan Ganesh (Colorado School of Mines)
    A Spectrally Accurate Algorithm for Navier-stokes Equations on Rotating Spheres
  • Friday 4 June2010
    Informal Group Meeting
  • Friday 11 June 2010
    John Aston (Warwick)
    Estimating Change Points in Multidimensional Dependent Functional Data
  • Friday 18 June 2010
    Informal Group Meeting
  • Friday 25 June 2010
    Jim Nolen (Duke)
    Fine Scale Uncertainty in Parameter Estimation for Elliptic PDE

 

Term 2 – 2010

All seminars on Fridays at 12:00 in Lecture Room B3.02 - Mathematics Institute - Zeeman Building

Organisers: Gareth Roberts and Andrew Stuart

PDF of Poster

Term 1 – 2009/10

All seminars on Fridays at 12:00 in Lecture Room B3.02 - Mathematics Institute - Zeeman Building

Organisers: Andrew Stuart and Gareth Roberts

PDF of Poster

  • Friday 9 October 2009
    Tony Lelievre (ENPC)
    Adaptive importance sampling, and application to Bayesian statistics
  • Friday 16 October 2009
    Mark Girolami (Glasgow)
    Riemannian Manifold Hamiltonian Monte Carlo
  • Friday 23 October 2009
    Geoff Nichols (Oxford)
    Doing Bayesian MCMC based inference slowly: applications and algorithms
  • Friday 30 October 2009
    Tony O'Hagan (Sheffield)
    Uncertainty in predictions from process models
  • Friday 6 November 2009
    Mike Giles (Oxford)
    Multilevel Monte Carlo for discontinuous payoffs
  • Friday 13 November 2009
    Andreas Eberle (Bonn)
    Quantitative approximations of evolving probability measures and sequential Markov Chain Monte Carlo methods
  • Friday 20 November 2009
    Dan Cornford (Aston)
    Scaling to larger systems and parameter inference
  • Friday 27 November 2009
    Chus Sanz-Serna (Valladolid)
    Carrying an inverted pendulum on a bumpy road
  • Friday 4 December 2009
    Peter Jan van Leeuwen (Reading)
    Data assimilation in highly nonlinear large dimensional systems: how to beat the curse of dimensionality in particle filterning
  • Friday 11 December 2009
    Ke Chen (Liverpool)
    Variational imaging models and algorithms