Skip to main content

WMI Seminar List

Seminar List Entry | Seminar List Update | Seminars by subject


Sunday, 17 September, 2017 — Friday, 13 July, 2018 Symposium 2017-2018
Organisers: Brian Bowditch, Chris Leininger, Saul Schleimer, John Smillie and Karen Vogtmann — 2017-2018 Warwick EPSRC Symposium on Geometry, Topology and Dynamics in Low Dimensions
Monday, 23 October, 2017, 3:00 pm, Room B3.03 Number Theory
Raphael Steiner (Bristol) — Equidistribution of rational points on the sphere, Sarnak's Conjecture, and the twisted Linnik Conjecture
Tuesday, 24 October, 2017, 2:00 pm, Room B3.02 Ergodic Theory and Dynamical Systems seminar
Fabrizio Bianchi (Imperial) — Holomorphic motions of Julia sets
Wednesday, 25 October, 2017, 12:00 pm, Room B3.02 Postgraduate seminar
Trish Gunaratnam (Warwick) — Transport of Gaussian measures under Hamiltonian PDE dynamics
Wednesday, 25 October, 2017, 2:00 pm, Room B3.02 Ergodic Theory and Dynamical Systems seminar
Andrei Ghenciu (Wisconsin Stout) — Conformal graph directed Markov systems (CGDMSs): beyond finite irreducibility
Wednesday, 25 October, 2017, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Probability seminar
Scott Smith (Leipzig) — tba
Thursday, 26 October, 2017, 1:00 pm, Room B1.01 Computation in Algebra, Geometry, Topology, Number Theory, Combinatorics, and related fields
John Cremona (Warwick) — Computers in Number Theory
Thursday, 26 October, 2017, 2:00 pm, Room B3.02 Algebra seminar
Gareth Tracey (tbc) — The Chebotarev Invariant of a Finite Group
Thursday, 26 October, 2017, 2:00 pm, Room MS.04 Statistical Mechanics
Costanza Benassi (University of Warwick) — Random loop models: conjectures and results
Thursday, 26 October, 2017, 3:00 pm, Room MS.03 Geometry and Topology
Richard Webb (Cambridge) — Searching for CAT(0) complexes, and where not to look
Friday, 27 October, 2017, 12:00 pm, Room B3.02 Applied Maths Seminar
Lucia de Luca (TU Munich) — Variational analysis for dipoles of topological singularities in two dimensions
Friday, 27 October, 2017, 2:00 pm, Room MS.04 Combinatorics seminar
Ben Barber (Bristol) — Isoperimetry in integer lattices
Friday, 27 October, 2017, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Colloquium
Louise Dyson (Warwick)
Monday, 30 October, 2017, 3:00 pm, Room B3.03 Number Theory
David Lowry-Duda (Warwick) — TBA
Tuesday, 31 October, 2017, 2:00 pm, Room B3.02 Ergodic Theory and Dynamical Systems seminar
Franco Vivaldi (Queen Mary) — Renormalization in parametric families of polygon-exchange transformations
Wednesday, 1 November, 2017, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Probability Seminar
Dan Beata (Paris) — TBA
Wednesday, 1 November, 2017, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Probability Seminar
Dan Betea (Paris) — The Pfaffian free boundary Schur process and asymptotics
Thursday, 2 November, 2017, 1:00 pm, Room B1.01 Computation in Algebra, Geometry, Topology, Number Theory, Combinatorics, and related fields
David Lowry-Duda (Warwick) — Introduction to Sage
Thursday, 2 November, 2017, 2:00 pm, Room B3.02 Algebra seminar
Irene Pasquinelli (tbc) — Deligne-Mostow Lattices and Cone Metrics on the Sphere
Thursday, 2 November, 2017, 3:00 pm, Room MS.03 Geometry and Topology
Michael Shapiro (Bath) — Heisenberg group has rational growth in all generating sets
Friday, 3 November, 2017, 12:00 pm, Room B3.02 Applied Maths Seminar
Greg Pavliotis� (Imperial) — Long time behaviour and phase transitions for the McKean-Vlasov equation
Friday, 3 November, 2017, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Colloquium
Weiyi Zhang (Warwick) — tbc
Monday, 6 November, 2017 Mir@W Day
Organiser: Robert MacKay — Mathematics & Physics Far From Equilibrium
Monday, 6 November, 2017, 3:00 pm, Room B3.03 Number Theory
Stanley Xiao (Oxford) — Quartic orders of D4-type with monogenic cubic resolvent
Wednesday, 8 November, 2017, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Probability Seminar
Lorenzo Taggi (Darmstadt) — tba
Thursday, 9 November, 2017, 1:00 pm, Room B1.01 Computation in Algebra, Geometry, Topology, Number Theory, Combinatorics, and related fields
Derek Holt (Warwick) — Computers in Group Theory
Thursday, 9 November, 2017, 3:00 pm, Room MS.03 Geometry and Topology
Michael Magee (Durham) — Word measures on unitary groups
Friday, 10 November, 2017, 12:00 pm, Room B3.02 Applied Maths Seminar
Manuel Friedrich (Vienna) — Carbon geometries as optimal configurations
Friday, 10 November, 2017, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Colloquium
Bertrand Rémy (Ecole Polytechinique)
Monday, 13 November, 2017, 3:00 pm, Room B3.03 Number Theory
Enrique Gonzalez-Jimenez (Madrid) — TBA
Wednesday, 15 November, 2017, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Probability seminar
Vedran Sohinger (Warwick) — tba
Thursday, 16 November, 2017, 2:00 pm, Room B3.02 Algebra seminar
Peter Kropholler (tbc) — Random Walks through Soluble Group Theory
Friday, 17 November, 2017, 12:00 pm, Room B3.02 Applied Maths Seminar
Mathew Thorpe (Cambridge) — Analysis of p-Laplacian Regularization in Semi-Supervised Learning
Friday, 17 November, 2017, 2:00 pm, Room MS.04 Combinatorics Seminar
Johannes Carmesin (Cambridge) — Embedding simply connected 2-complexes in 3-space
Friday, 17 November, 2017, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Colloquium
Kate Smith-Miles (Melbourne) — tbc
Monday, 20 November, 2017, 3:00 pm, Room B3.03 Number Theory
Alexandra Florea (Bristol) — TBA
Wednesday, 22 November, 2017, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Probability Seinar
Dominik Schröder (IST Austria) — tba
Thursday, 23 November, 2017, 1:00 pm, Room B1.01  Computation in Algebra, Geometry, Topology, Number Theory, Combinatorics, and related fields
Saul Schleimer (Warwick) — Computers in Topology
Thursday, 23 November, 2017, 2:00 pm, Room MS.04 Statistical Mechanics
Anna Maltsev (Queen Mary University) — What the Ising model can tell us about intracellular calcium signals
Friday, 24 November, 2017, 12:00 pm, Room B3.02 Applied Maths Seminar
Dante Kalise (Imperial) — A computational hierarchy for the optimisation and control of collective behaviour phenomena
Friday, 24 November, 2017, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Colloquium
Ulrike Tillmann (Oxford) — tbc
Monday, 27 November, 2017, 3:00 pm, Room B3.03 Number Theory
Sam Edis (Sheffield) — TBA
Wednesday, 29 November, 2017, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Probability Seminar
Nathanaël Berestycki (Cambridge) — tba
Friday, 1 December, 2017, 12:00 pm, Room B3.02 Applied Maths Seminar
Valentin Sulzer (Oxford) — Electrochemical modelling of batteries for off-grid energy storage systems
Friday, 1 December, 2017, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Colloquium
Igor Krasovski (Imperial College) — tbc
Monday, 4 December, 2017, 3:00 pm, Room B3.03 Number Theory
Ben Green (Oxford) — The Kakeya conjecture and number theory
Wednesday, 6 December, 2017, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Probability Seminar
Andreas Kuyprianou (Bath) — tba
Friday, 8 December, 2017, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Colloquium
Sergey Nazarenko (Warwick)
Monday, 11 December, 2017 — Thursday, 14 December, 2017 Non Symposium
Organiser: Dan Kral — DIMAP 10 Year Anniversary Workshop
Monday, 11 December, 2017 — Friday, 15 December, 2017 Symposium
Organisers: Nathan Dunfield, Stephan Tillmann, Saul Schleimer — Computation in geometric topology
Monday, 18 December, 2017 Non-Symposium
Organiser: Thomas Hudson — Variational Approaches to Problems in Solid Mechanics
Wednesday, 17 January, 2018, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Probability Seminar
Benjamin Gess (MPI Leipzig) — TBA
Wednesday, 24 January, 2018, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Probability seminar
Marton Balazs (University of Bristol) — TBA
Wednesday, 21 February, 2018, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Probability seminar
Antti Knowles (University of Geneva) — TBA
Wednesday, 28 February, 2018, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Probability seminar
Hugo Duminil-Copin (IHES) — TBA
Wednesday, 14 March, 2018, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Probability seminar
Peter Fritz (TU Berlin) — TBA
Monday, 19 March, 2018 — Friday, 23 March, 2018 Symposium
Organisers: Corinna Ulcigrai, Anton Zorich, John Smillie — Teichmüller dynamics
Monday, 9 April, 2018 — Friday, 13 April, 2018 Symposium
Organisers: Mladen Bestvina, Tara Brendle, Chris Leininger — Geometry of Teichmüller space and mapping class groups
Monday, 16 April, 2018 — Friday, 20 April, 2018 Symposium
Organisers: Ruth Charney, Karen Vogtmann — Geometry of outer spaces and outer automorphism groups
Wednesday, 25 April, 2018, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Probability Seminar
Jan Maas (IST Austria) — TBA
Friday, 15 June, 2018, 4:00 pm, Room B3.02 Colloquium
Marcelo Viana (IMPA) — tbc
Monday, 18 June, 2018 — Thursday, 21 June, 2018 Non-Symposium
Organisers: Anuj Dawar (Cambridge), Zdenek Dvorak (Charles University) and Dan Kral (Warwick) — Structural sparsity, logic and algorithms
Monday, 2 July, 2018 — Friday, 6 July, 2018 Symposium
Organisers: John Parker, Ser Peow Tan, Brian Bowditch — Representation varieties and geometric structures in low dimensions
Monday, 9 July, 2018 — Friday, 13 July, 2018 Symposium
Organisers: Piotr Przytycki, Michah Sageev, Brian Bowditch — Graphs, surfaces, and cube complexes

Last updated:  20 October 2017, 11:28