Skip to main content

Physics Department News

Pettifer Prize 2017


The Pettifer Prize is presented annually to the Physics student with the best overall performance in first year examinations, and it honours the memory of Dr Robert Pettifer, who joined the department in 1972 until his retirement due to ill-health in 2007.

The prize was presented by David Leadley and also by Robert’s wife, Mary Pettifer.

The winner this year was Nicholas Metcalfe.

More information on the prize can be found at

Tue 31 October 2017, 12:10 | Tags: Undergraduates, Awards

Celebrating our People: Rachel Edwards

Rachel Edwards, Associate Professor (Reader) in the Physics department, was the winner of the Public Engagement University Award. She writes about her work and what winning this award means for her and the department.

Schools Physicists of the Year Awards

On Wednesday 14th June the Physics Department welcomed 29 lower sixth students to the department to award them prizes. All Coventry and Warwickshire schools were invited to nominate their best student who was then presented with their prize by Professor David Leadley, head of physics.

The students enjoyed a variety of interactive demonstrations by members of the Physics Department followed by a lecture from Dr Rachel Edwards on her research.

Ally Caldecote, organiser said "It is a pleasure to award these prizes which recognise the hard work of the students across Coventry and Warwickshire. As a department who love and appreciate physics it is a delight to see the up-and-coming talent in the area."

Tue 25 July 2017, 13:41 | Tags: Outreach, Public Engagement and Media, Awards

Sandra Chapman awarded Fulbright scholarship

Professor Sandra Chapman will be conducting research on space weather at Boston University in the USA, after receiving the Fulbright Lloyds of London Scholar Award.

Mon 05 June 2017, 14:25 | Tags: Feature News, Staff and Department, Awards

Older news