Skip to main content

Programme of Events 2006-07

NEW:
Poets Reading Philosophy / Philosophers Reading Poetry - 26-28 October 2007

 

 
CRPLA and Colloquium in European Philosophy Events are open to all.

Term One

Tuesday 10 October

5.30pm
S0.20

Colloquium in European Philosophy

Speaker:Christopher Fynsk (Aberdeen)
Title: Blanchot at the International Review

Tuesday 17 October

5.30pm
S0.20

CRPL Lecture-Seminar

Speaker: Efrain Krystal (UCLA)
Title: Objects of Art in the Modern Liquid Age - Reflections on Richard Wollheim, Zygmunt Bauman & Yves Michaud

Tuesday 24 October

5.30pm
S0.20

Colloquium in European Philosophy

Speaker: Christine Battersby (Warwick)
Title: Sartre, Deleuze and the Ontology of Make-Up

Tuesday 7 November

5.30pm
S0.20

Colloquium in European Philosophy

Speaker: Darren Ambrose (Warwick)
Title: Deleuze and Tarkovsky: Cinema, Thought and the Restoration of Belief

Tuesday 14 November

5.30pm
S0.20

CRPL Lecture-Seminar

Speaker: Eileen John (Warwick)
Title: Poetry and Connecting Thought

Tuesday 21 November

5.30pm
S0.20

Colloquium in European Philosophy

Speaker: Wayne Martin (Essex)
Title: Stoic Self-Consciousness

Tuesday 28 November

5.30pm
S0.20

CRPL Lecture-Seminar

Speaker: Clive Cazeaux
Title: Sublimation versus Agglutination: poetic ontology in Heidegger and Bachelard

Tuesday 5 December

5.30pm
S0.20

Colloquium in European Philosophy

Speaker: Fiona Hughes
Title: Liminal Aesthetics

 

Term Two

Tuesday 16 January CRPL Seminar

5.30pm Speaker: Christopher Hamilton, King’s College London

S0.20 Title: Philosophy, Poetry and Psychology: Some Nietzschean Reflections 

Wednesday 24 January Poetry and Philosophy Reading Group,

1-2 pm

S1.71

Tuesday 30 January CRPL Seminar

5.30pm Speaker: Martin Warner, University of Warwick emeritus

S.020 Title: Some Thoughts on Metaphor 


Wednesday 31 January Reading Group on Robert Musil’s The Man without Qualities

 

1-2 pm

S1.71


Wednesday 7 February Poetry and Philosophy Reading Group

1-2 pm

S1.71

 

Tuesday 13 February CRPL Seminar

5.30pm Speaker: Emma Campbell, University of Warwick

S0.20 Title: Sovereign Power and Bare Life in Medieval Saints’ Lives 


Wednesday 14 February Musil Reading Group

1-2 pm

S1.71

Wednesday 21 February Poetry and Philosophy Reading Group

1-2 pm

S1.71


Tuesday 27 February CRPL Seminar

5.30pm Speaker: Peter Kivy, Rutgers University

S0.20 Title: The Aesthetics of Literature: A Neglected Topic 


Wednesday 28 February Musil Reading Group

1-2 pm

S1.71


Wednesday 7 March Poetry and Philosophy Reading Group

1-2 pm

S1.71


Tuesday 13 March CRPL Seminar

5.30pm Speaker: Michael Lewis

S0.20 Title: Lacan and Derrida on Transcendental Writing 


Wednesday 14 March Musil Reading Group

1-2 pm

S1.71

 

Term Three 


Wednesday 25 April Poetry and Philosophy Reading Group

1-2 pm

S1.71

 
Tuesday 1 May CRPL Seminar

5.30pm Speaker: Garry Hagberg, University of East Anglia

S0.20 Title: Wittgenstein, the Self, and Autobiographical Writing


Wednesday 2 May Musil Reading Group

 

1-2 pm

S1.71


Wednesday 9 May Poetry and Philosophy Reading Group

 

1-2 pm

S1.71

Tuesday 15 May CRPL Seminar

5.30pm Speaker: Matthew Kieran, University of Leeds

S0.20 Title: On Comedy versus Tragedy


    Wednesday 16 May Musil Reading Group

     

    1-2 pm

    S1.71

    1 June CRPL Workshop

       

      Modernism and the Emotions

        Speakers: Sabine Doering (Hamburg/Manchester, Philosophy), Paul Davies (Sussex, Philosophy), Michael Bell (Warwick, English and Comparative Literary Studies), Eileen John (Warwick, Philosophy), Peter Poellner (Warwick, Philosophy)

        For more information please click here.

         

         

        Further details of these events can be obtained from the Centre Secretary, Lynda Hemsley, on 024 7652 3421.