Skip to main content

Why isn't that file I put in the Wastebasket in the Wastebasket any more?

By default, items are automatically removed from the Wastebasket after three days. This functionality is built in to GNOME and can be changed by opening the System menu (power icon in top right), clicking the Settings icon, (looks like crossed spanner and screwdriver), then in the window that opens click Privacy then Purge Wastebasket & Temporary Files.