Skip to main content

Sharing calendars - OWA

Important Note: The information below is for personal calendars being shared with colleagues. If you want access to a Resource account calendar then use Delegate access instead of the instructions below. When using delegate access, appointments will behave differently to the information given below and it is also possible to allow people to add, edit and delete calendar entries.


How to share your calendar with colleagues

1. screenshot of share calendar optionGo to your Calendar view. (If you have other calendars already available, make sure you highlight your own calendar. )

2. Click on SHARE in the toolbar top right of screen (see screenshot).

3. A sharing request email appears. Start typing in a name in the Share with box and you will get some suggestions from the address book that match. Once a name is chosen it will appear below and you will be able to choose the share permissions you wish to grant them - Availability only, Limited details, or Full details (click on screenshot below). If you wanted to share your calendar with a few colleagues, then you can add in multiple recipients and it allows you to alter the share permissions for each recipient.

Calendar sharing request

The drop-down menu options:

  • Availability only - Appointments will be shown as Free, Busy, Tentative or Out of Office to the share recipient.
  • Limited details - Shows availability (Free, Busy, etc) and the subject headers for each appointment to the share recipient.
  • Full details - Shows availability and all details contained in the appointment (i.e. if an appointment has a message included, the share recipient will be able to open the appointment and read that message too).

4. Click SEND.

To change the permission level after the initial share

Using Outlook Web App (OWA) you can only grant read only / view permissions. If you need to grant others the right to create appointments they need to have 'Editor' rights granted and this can only be done via the Outlook client or by IT Services.

  • Follow the same instructions (as above) as if you were initially sharing your calendar. Select the new desired level and click send.
  • The recipient may need to re-add the calendar for changes to take effect.

Marking appointments as Private

Private appointments screenshotRegardless of access given above, if an appointment is marked as 'Private' on your calendar, all the recipient will see is a 'Private Appointment' label and a padlock symbol (see screenshot which shows how a person granted Full details to your calendar will see a private appointment followed by one not marked private). All recipients of your share will not be able to open a Private appointment or see the subject headers - just whether that block of time is marked as Free, Busy, Tentative, or Out of Office.

Any item in your calendar can be marked as private and it can be set before or after an appointment is created or sent.

  • open the appointment and click on the tick box for 'Mark as Private' (located just above the formatting toolbar of the main body of the message).
  • if you are wanting to send a private appointment out, then click the tick box alongside 'Mark as Private' before sending your appointment.

Simply open an appointment and un-tick the box to remove the Private setting.