Skip to main content

Why are all Sent emails saved?

Why are all Sent mails saved? Can this be changed?

The default option in the Outlook Client is to save all messages sent to the Sent Items folder. However, it is possible to temporarily override this default as the following options are available:

  • Use default folder (Sent Items folder).
  • Not to save.
  • Other folder (Selecting this will open up a menu to choose another folder of your choosing from your mailbox).
To temporarily override the default setting using Outlook 2010 client:
  • Before you click 'Send' on your email, go to the 'Options' tab and click on 'Save Sent Item To' in the 'More Options' section of the toolbar/ribbon to see the above options.
  • Please Note:
    • If choosing another folder, you can only choose another folder in your own mailbox (so if you have more than one mailbox open, you cannot choose a folder in the other mailbox).
    • This setting will only apply for the email you are currently sending, when sending the next email you will find it reverts back to the default setting of saving to the Sent Items folder.
Warning: If you go to 'File', then 'Options', then 'Mail', scroll down to 'Save Messages' and untick 'Save copies of messages in the Sent Items folder' - then all emails you send will not be saved anywhere.

Resource Accounts:

If you are looking for information on how to get your sent emails to go into the Sent Items folder of the resource account rather than your own (because you have both your personal and the resource account visible on your client profile). You should open the resource account directly with its password (e.g. via OWA or setting up a client profile that just opens the resource account).