Skip to main content

How do I make an entry that is private to myself or my friends?

To make an entry that is private to yourself or your friends, you must first be signed into BlogBuilder with your IT Services username and password.

  1. On the right hand side of the utility bar of your blog you will see a link that says 'Create entry'. Hover over the 'Create entry' link and a drop down menu will appear. Click on 'Private entry (Just me)'. The create new entry screen should appear.
  2. Write your entry in the normal way.
  3. At this stage only you will be able to view and comment on your entry.

    To allow your friends or contributors to view your entry, click on the drop down privacy list under 'Privacy list icon Who can see this entry?' and choose the appropriate group. Note that the 'Friends' group will be empty until you have added some people to it.

    Choosing a privacy level

    To allow your friends or contributors to comment on your entry, click on the drop down list under 'Who can comment on this entry icon Who can comment on this entry?' and choose the appropriate group.

    Choosing who can comment on your entry
  4. When you have finished writing your entry, click on the 'Publish now' button 'Publish now' button

You should see a padlock icon Padlock icon next to the entry's title. This indicates that the entry is a private one.

Note: If you have some users in your Contributors group then, when you hover over the 'Create entry' link (in Step 1) a further option of 'Private entry (Contributors)' will be present. This automatically sets your entry as viewable to and commentable by users who are in your Contributors group.

If you have already written your entry and you subsequently decide that you want it to be private, then you can click on the 'Edit' link below the entry and select 'Just me' from the drop down privacy list.

Example: You went out with a group of friends and want to write an entry about the evening, including a few photos. However, as you made a bit of a fool of yourself you may want to only let your friends see the entry!