Skip to main content

How do I share a file or folder?

You can share files or folders with others so they can carry out particular actions:

  • View – view files or folders at a particular URL.
  • Change – allow others to upload files, change or delete files and folders, and create new folders.
  • Manage – allow others to change the sharing permissions on files or folders.

Note: If someone is not able to at least view the containing folder of a file, they will only have View permission for that file – even if you grant them Change or Manage permission.

The following table shows which permissions you can assign to different audiences:

Audience View Change Manage
Anyone, even if they are not signed in Yes No No
Any Warwick staff Yes No No
Any Warwick student Yes No No
A Warwick person Yes Yes Yes
An external user Yes Yes Yes
A web group Yes Yes Yes
  1. Go to files.warwick.ac.uk and ensure you're signed in.
  2. Browse to the relevant file space.
  3. If you want to share an entire folder, select the folder at the left-hand side and then skip to step 5:

    Select folder at left-hand side

  4. To share files, browse to their containing folder and select the files using the checkboxes at the left of the file names:

    Select file to share

  5. Select Share in the menu bar.
  6. Decide who to share the files with and select the relevant audience using the radio buttons:
    • Anyone, even if they are not signed in
    • Any Warwick staff
    • Any Warwick students
    • A Warwick person (select this option if you intend to share with an external user)
    • A Warwick WebGroup
  7. If you selected A Warwick person or A Warwick WebGroup in the previous step, start typing the name in the text box. (For an external user, paste their usercode in the text box.)

    Share files screen

  8. Use the Send an email... checkbox to specify whether or not you wish to send an email to notify recipients that they can now access the files.
  9. Use the radio buttons to specify whether recipients can view, change (e.g. upload, edit and delete), or manage a file (grant sharing permissions to others).
  10. Select the Share button.

Related FAQs

What is the difference between sending and sharing files?