What is OAuth?
OAuth (Open Authorization) is an open standard for authorisation. It allows users to share their private resources (e.g. photos, videos, contact lists) stored on one site with another site without having to hand out their credentials, typically username and password. At Warwick, we use OAuth as a method for applications to request information about you and Warwick applications that you use, with your permission, to enable better integration between our applications.
What information can applications access?
When you are asked to authorise an access token, the information that the application can access about you and the applications that they can access information from is listed. An application will not be able to get any more information about you than is provided without your express permission.
How do I stop an application accessing my data?
If you to go to the Authorised tokens page, you will be able to see all of the OAuth tokens that you have authorised, the services that they have access to, the date that you granted access and the day that the authorisation expires. By default, we will only authorise access to your information for one year, and you can revoke that authorisation at any time by clicking the "Revoke" button next to that token.
How do I use OAuth to access Warwick data from my applications?
Please see the FAQ on Accessing Warwick APIs with OAuth.
Start.Warwick uses OAuth to access information about you from other Warwick applications, and can do so without explicitly asking for permission as a trusted application. If you revoke tokens belonging to Start.Warwick, new tokens will be generated the next time you visit the service.