Skip to main content

How do I make a custom template available to others?

When you first create a template, it's not visible to other people who edit your site (unless they have edit permissions on the home page and can, therefore, create their own templates). This enables you to prepare and test the template behind the scenes, before making it available to others.

Once you've finished editing your template, there are two ways to share it with other people who edit your site.

Current site tab

  1. Go to Edit > More > Current site tab (you need edit or admin permissions on the home page to do this).
  2. In the Site templates section, select the eye icon next to the template you wish to share. An open eye denotes that the template is available for others to use.

    Custom template and open eye icon

Template properties

  1. Go to Edit > More > Current site tab (you need edit or admin permissions on the home page to do this).
  2. In the Site templates section, select the template then select the Edit button.
  3. When you're in the template editor (denoted by the green SiteBuilder banner), go to the Template tab.
  4. Select Edit template properties:

    Template tab

  5. Select the Show in template gallery checkbox.
  6. Select the Save changes button, then select the Done button at the top right.
  7. Your template is now available for others to choose when they create a new page on your site:

    Custom template available in template gallery

Support

Telephone 73737
Email webteam at warwick dot ac dot uk
How to report a problem