Removing a file that you have uploaded to your website is a two-step process, and it is up to you whether you feel it necessary to perform both steps. Initially you will need to browse to the page of your site where the file you wish to remove was uploaded.
Click the Edit link and then click the Files tab.
The Files Toolbar screen will be shown:
Select the file that you wish to delete (you can select more than one by pressing the 'Ctrl' key and clicking on the file).
Click on the Delete icon, or click on the arrow at the beginning of the row and select 'delete' from the available options.
A confirmation bubble will appear asking you if you wish to delete the file or cancel the operation. Click Delete.
At this point the file will no longer be accessible through the browser in the standard way. However, you will notice that the file has not been removed from the Files Toolbar, and instead appears like this:
You now have the option to purge the file (permanently deleting it), or you can leave it in your uploaded files list. This feature is very useful if you think that you may need the file in the future, as you can restore it and make it available again.
To restore the file, select the file and click on the Restore icon. A confirmation pop-up will appear asking you if you wish to restore the file or cancel the operation. Click Restore.
Alternatively, if you wish to permanently remove the file, select the file and click on the Purge icon. A confirmation bubble will appear asking you if you wish to purge the file or cancel the operation. If you are sure you want to permanently delete the file, click Purge.
Note: If you purge the file it will be removed from the system and you will not be able to use it again. Unless absolutely necessary, you should always consider deleting a file but leaving it available in your uploaded files list.
Email webteam at warwick dot ac dot uk
How to report a problem